Moodling it up…

Posted: July 27, 2008 in Moodle
Tags: , ,

After reading some historical bloging (aka: catching up), I found one of Bob Sprankle’s to be especially interesting. It links to the K-12 Online conference from last year (looking forward to this year!), and specifically to the presentation by Jason Hando about incorporating PageFlakes and other Mashups into Moodle.

I am looking for awesome new things to do with Moodle, and this is a step in that direction.  Check out the ideas he has for improving the Moodle usage. I think the biggest hint to get out of this is that you can add extra boxes (or labels) and then embed things (anything you might create that is “embeddable” from another web source) through HTML.  Love it!

Last year I set up my classes with Moodle and used it when I could. Computer time is hard to come by in our school, but it was really beneficial when I came down with Influenza A… because I could sit on my sofa at home and log in to Moodle and, essentially, hold class via Moodle! We had chats and online exercises. It was a life-saver for a teacher who, too often, doesn’t trust that anything gets done with subs.

So… I’m open (and hoping for) lots of feedback for someone who, right now, I would call a “Moderate Moodler”. Ideas?

Comments
  1. Cheryl Oakes says:

    We are trying to move our staff along with Moodle use. I have been using it for projects and workshops and my online summer class. I am making mistakes and making some great models. It is a process and in the long run , valuable.

  2. 4wardthinking says:

    Thanks, Cheryl!
    I am very excited about using Moodle even more often this year… trying to perfect (ha!) the things that Moodle has to offer. How do you deal with access (or lack thereof) of students with/without computers?

Leave a Reply

