Get another license

Posted: September 13, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Yesterday I received an e-mail postulating that the new high school in our district does not want to offer German as a language choice. I went to our principal and shared my concerns about how this decision might/will affect my position.

She told me to “un-sweat” it. 🙂  As long as my numbers keep growing, I will be fine. And she wants to (eventually?) IB train me so that even more students take and continue in German.

But then she did say this, “You should get your reading licensure. Many people who are single licensed are getting their reading license because it is an up-and-coming thing.”

So that left me with a bad taste in my mouth after a seemingly positive conversation. I know she is just offering sage advice and looking out for me in the case of something unforseeable and awful, but it’s not giving me any “heart” about the situation.

With the recent “meetings“, I know that, when it comes down to it, I won’t know about the loss of a program until it’s too late anyway.

Teaching an elective is draining. I often envy my friends who don’t have to worry about numbers… and about how every thing they do might affect their numbers, their program, and their job. It’s marketing and politics built into the already often overwhelming job of teaching, assessing, differentiating, supplementing and oh-so-much-more. And some days, I’m just tired.

Leave a Reply

