Perfect timing…

Posted: January 5, 2009 in Uncategorized

Today I stumbled across this great reminder: “What’s in an ‘A’?” by Paul Barnwell

During my wonderful time in my Master’s program, I spent quite a bit of time toward the end of the program looking at formative assessment and how to better give students a picture of their strengths and weaknesses. With life being as busy as it is, I just haven’t put the time aside to really consider the implications and integrate the philosophy throughout my practice… but that doesn’t mean that I have forgotten about it. It’s sometimes funny how one project (e.g. formative assessment) can bring so many other things to the surface (e.g. holistic, authentic learning; language usage; critical and exciting real-world experiences for learning) and, at some point, I become paralyzed… and look the other way for a while. (Not that I don’t have enough other things to legitimately look at, of course… but that’s beside the point… excuses, excuses…)

So with the new quarter starting soon, it’s a healthy reminder for me that I can, like the New Year, start fresh again… if that’s what I need.

Leave a Reply

