Mauerfall

Posted: November 9, 2009 in Uncategorized

Deutschland 2008 006

Tomorrow is the big day!

9. November 2009 is the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin wall.

What a fantastic day, and what fantastic discussions to be had.

So I am feeling overwhelmed.

I know there are SO many things out there about the fall of the wall that I am sure that I am missing some of the very best ones. I have slogged through all of the fantastic content that Deutsche Welle has on the topic both in German and in English and have catalogued it for when I teach the upper level class next semester (and sifted for the things I can use in 85 minutes tomorrow), but I know there is soooo much more out there.

I love the story of the two animatronic robots/giants that went through Berlin to find each otherRiesen in Berlin… I would like to find more about them.

I would love to hear even more stories about that night. I would love to hear more Ostalgie stories. I would love to hear more stories of escape, more stories of the Tränenpalast, more stories of Alltag in der DDR.

But I’m too overwhelmed to even start looking… because with news stories coming and getting buried faster than I can blink an eye, I’m (illogically) afraid all of it will only be available tomorrow and never again.

Do you have anything wonderful you’ve seen?

Comments
  1. euandus says:

    Interesting post. I’ve been watching DW TV today on the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall. I have just posted on the fall of the wall from the standpoint of European integration. http://euandus3.wordpress.com/2009/11/09/heute-ist-die-mauer-gefallen/

Leave a Reply

