Does Superman exist?

Posted: May 24, 2010 in Uncategorized

“You can’t relate to a superhero, to a superman, but you can identify with a real man who in times of crisis draws forth some extraordinary quality from within himself and triumphs but only after a struggle. ”
Timothy Dalton 

So have you all heard about this new documentary that is coming soon to a theater near you? It’s called Waiting for “Superman”.

I look forward to seeing it. I also, however, fear the story that will be told. (Maybe it’s Michelle Rhee saying that our educational system is crap.)  I hope that it is not one-sided and more heavy on idealistic rhetoric than proven strategies that can extrapolate across all areas. Don’t get me wrong. I love idealistic rhetoric. It inspires me. But when it’s being used to create an “informed” public to work against the system instead of working together to improve it, I have a problem. I hope that won’t be the case.

I’m no superman. I do what I can, when I can, to make the educational process more meaningful for students; get more kids to buy-in, stay-in, and keep-it-in.  I have a lot of fun and really, really, enjoy why I get to go to school every day.  On good days, much of what we work through has recordable positive effects in students’ educational programs. We all do. We all struggle and succeed, struggle and succeed. I hope the struggles are honored as much as the successes.

Leave a Reply

